2023 Remembrance Day Service at Anzac Jawan Cenotaph

The Australia India Cenotaph Committee (A project of Hindu Council Australia) along with Hornsby RSL Sub branch conducted the sixth Anzac Jawan Remembrance Day service at Cherrybrook on 19 Nov 2023 to commemorate the sacrifices made by the Anzac of Indian origin during WW1.

The ANZAC Jawan Cenotaph is an NSW War Memorial, it was erected in 2018 to celebrate the Armistice Centenary of the ANZAC and to recognize and commemorate the supreme sacrifices of the Anzacs of Indian origin.

The service commenced with landowner acknowledgment by the ceremony’s official host, Mr. Anand Manickam, Jt. Secretory – Hindu Council NSW, CTHS school captains lowering of the flags followed by the Welcome the dignitaries, attendees by NSW HCA chapter president Suresh Vashist–Hindu Council of Australia and Inaugural Commemoration by George Main President, Hornsby RSL Sub-branch. Indian Army Veterans Col. Virender Sahni delivered the Remembrance Day messages at the service.

It was attended by many Indian defence ex-servicemen Col. Virender Sahani, Capt. Suresh Gupta, Lt Col. Sachin Tilekar, and Wing Commander Umesh Upadhaya.

VIP Guest Commemoration Speakers were Vice Consular Mr Ramneek Singh representing Hon. Manish Gupta Consul General of India in Sydney, Mr Mark Hodges MP, Member for Castle Hill, Clr. Sreeni Pillamari is representing our Federal MP Mr. Julian Leeser, Member for Berowra and the Principal Commemoration Speaker Hon Philip Ruddock AO – Mayor of Hornsby Shire Council

The representatives from Hornsby RSL Sub-branch, Ex-Servicemen, Australian Army Cadets HQ,  Hornsby Shire Council, Raj Dutta from Strathfield Council, Hindu Council NSW Teams, AICC, Dignitaries, Community Organizations, IABBV Hindi School, CTHS Students and the public laid wreaths or paid rich floral tribute to those fallen soldiers while The Lament played by Music.

Mr. Arjun Mehta – Gujarati Samaj and Mr. Harbir Singh Bhatia from Turramurra Gurudwara, offered religious prayers for the Hindu and Sikh faiths.

The students of IABBV Hindi School sang the hymn abide with me, National Anthems of Australia and India track. Mr. John Zeller, Vice President of Hornsby RSL Sub-Branch, read the Ode

A one-minute silence was observed in honour of the ANZACs followed by the last post sounded by Ms Haasini Anandhan – Concert Band of Cherrybrook Public School. and the Rouse sounded while School Captains Ms Ayla Ackling and Mr Ben Burrows from Cherrybrook Technology High School raised flags from half-mast to the masthead.

Mr. Nitesh Sethi, AICC Member presented the vote of thanks

The Australia India Cenotaph Custodians Committee – Mr Anand Manickam, Mr Nitesh Sethi, Mr Nitin Jayaram and Mr Arjun Mehta managed the whole service with the support of WO1 RSM. David Rowe – Regimental Sergeant Major to Commander Australian Army Cadets. and Lt. Natalie Jackson from 202 Australian Army Cadets, and 202 AAC Members of Blacktown, Mrs Mala Mehta OAM, IABBV Hindi School, Cherrybrook Technology High School, and Cherrybrook Public School, Mr Rohan Sharma, Hindu Council volunteers and local community members.

The service was concluded by sharing some delicious refreshments with all the guests, and attendees.


Related Images: